2023-24 State Fours Championships Report

by tbreuer

The Bowls NSW State Championships’ Fours event came to a thrilling close on Wednesday, March 27 at Club Dubbo as competitors contested across five categories: Men’s State Fours, Women’s State Fours, Senior Men’s Fours, Senior Women’s Fours, and Open Reserve Fours.

State Women’s Fours

In the first semi-final clash, Cabramatta faced off against Park Beach. With a commanding performance Cabramatta surged ahead to secure a convincing victory with a scoreline of 35 – 8, sealing their spot in the final.

Meanwhile, the other semi-final encounter between Soldiers Point and Bowral was a tightly contested affair. The lead chopped and changed throughout, with Soldiers Point finishing in front at the end with a score of 27 – 22.

Cabramatta have been crowned State Champions after yet another impressive performance on the green. The Cabramatta team Jamie-Lee Worsnop, Jessie Cottell, Ellen Fife and Karen Murphy took an early lead and gave a commanding performance to win with a score of 36 – 5.

The Soldiers Point team of Robyn Flanagan, Sandra Bull, Leisa Burton and Melissa Witts put in a fantastic effort through out the Fours competition.

On Soldiers Point, Cabramatta Skip Karen Murphy said,

“Huge respect goes to the Soldiers Point girls they put in an amazing effort!”

Commenting on her own team,

“The girls in my team are amazing humans and have made my job so easy this week.”

State Men’s Fours

The Aaron Teys skipped Warilla side came up against Merrylands in a brilliant semi-final on the live stream rink. Warilla overcame a slow start to eventually emerge victorious with a score of 21-15, booking their place in the final.

Meanwhile, Ballina faced off against Raymond Terrace. Raymond Terrace were clinical from start to finish in their 21-10 win. Ballina showed great ability, but on this occasion, Raymond Terrace had the answer, making back-to-back Men’s Fours finals in the process.

The Raymond Terrace team of Tim Twinning, Jamie Minter, Matthew Baus and Lee Schraner fought an impressive battle to win against Warilla team – Chris Green, Shane Pascoe, Jeremy Henry and Aaron Teys with a final score of 16-13.

Warilla’s Skip Aaron Teys said of the game,

“We are all good mates; the game was played in good spirits and no matter the outcome we were all going to be happy”.

Raymond Terrace skip Lee Schraner said of the match,

“We had a real hard fight in tough conditions, but it was great!”

Senior Women’s Fours

In the first semi-final match up, Belrose came from a long way behind to win over Warilla with a score of 20-13. The never say die attitude of the Belrose team was on full display in this match as they overcame a very strong Warilla outfit.

The other semi-final between Cabarita Beach and Forster was a tightly contested match with Cabarita Beach winning by a single shot in a very low scoring affair, 13 -12.

In the final Belrose was crowned the winner against Cabarita Beach after an extremely close game in an extra end decider.

The Belrose team of Jan Keller, Kaye Alderton, Maggie Murphy and Billie Maas played a fantastic game against Cabarita Beach’s Peta McDonald, Laurel Poole, June Foran and Pamela Watterson to win 15 – 14.

Billie Maas from Belrose said,

“Thank you to the Cabarita Beach Ladies for a lovely but stressful game.”

Senior Men’s Fours

Perennial Senior State Finals competitors Towradgi Park started strong and maintained their lead throughout their game against Kurri Kurri to win of the match 31-6 and secure their place in back-to-back Men’s Senior Fours finals.

The second semi-final contest between Lismore Heights and Soldiers Point was closely fought. However, Lismore Heights emerged the winner with a final score of 17 – 13.

The Towradgi Park team of Rodney Busst, Brian Suckley, David Wakeling and Robbie Warren played a fantastic game and were the winners on the day against the Lismore Heights team of Terry McFadden, Rodney Burgess, Martin Holden and Percy Langby with a final score of 27 – 18.

Open Reserve Fours

Lane Cove had a strong win over NBC Sports in the semi-final, winning 23 – 9. Meanwhile, Camden emerged triumphant over Huskisson in a tight match that ended in a thrilling 17 -16 finish.

Lane Cove claimed the title in an impressive game against Camden with a score of 18 – 13. The Lane Cove team of Chris Sinclair, John Burke, Scott Bonthrone and John Lloyd were ecstatic with their win against the Camden team of Michael Pinkerton, Karl Szynal, Rick Staats and Gary Trick.

State Fours

State Women’s Fours

Cabramatta Winners 36 – 5

Solider Point Runners Up

State Men’s Fours

Raymond Terrace Winners 16 – 13

Warilla Runners Up

Senior Women’s Fours

Belrose Winners 15 – 14

Cabarita Beach Runners Up

Senior Men’s Fours

Towradgi Park Winner 27 – 18

Lismore Heights Runner Up

Open Reserve Fours

Lane Cove Winners 18 – 13

Camden Runners Up

Senior Men Fours Runner Up Lismore Heights

Senior Men’s Fours Winner Towrodgi Park

Senoir Women’s Fours Runner Up Cabarita Beach

Senior Women’s Fours Winner Belrose

Reserve Fours Runner Up Camden

Reserve Fours Winner Lane Cove

Mens Fours Runner Up Warilla

Men’s Fours Winner Raymond Terrace

Women’s Fours Runner Up Soldiers Point