2023 State Carnival Winners Crowned!

by Billy Johnson

Congratulations to Daphne Jones, Say Lee Jones, Jenny Clark and Leanne Smith who have won the 2023 State Carnival! They defeated Lesley Arie, Lorraine Peel, Lois McKiernan and Brittany Camp in a brilliant final played in front of a huge crowd at The Country Club St Georges Basin.

Finals Friday started with two cracking semi-final matches, the first between Brittany Camp’s team up against Kerry McNamara, Christine Page, Kerry Farrell and Sue Moore. Both Kerry Farrell and Sue Moore were part of the team that won the 2022 State Carnival, making their appearance in the semi-finals all the more impressive. This time around, it wasn’t to be for the defending champions, losing a tight match 16-14.

It was a similar affair in the other semi-final, with Leanne Smith’s team taking on 2022 State Carnival semi-finalists Karen McKay, Sarah McKay and Chelsea McKay, who had Karen Jones join their team for 2023. For the McKay family, it was a case of deja vu as they again lost their semi-final in a see-sawing affair, 18-12. Despite the loss, they should be proud of two consecutive semi-final appearances!

The final was a brilliant match played in excellent spirit, as players treated the strong crowds watching from around the St Georges Basin greens. In the end, it was Daphne Jones, Say Lee Jones, Jenny Clark and Leanne Smith who prevailed 17-12, earning themselves the title of 2023 State Carnival champions!

Thank you to our wonderful event hosts for their support over the five days, and to Shoalhaven Council for their continued support of this great event!