Open CoC Singles & Women’s CoC Pairs Champions Crowned

by Billy Johnson

In what was an historic moment for Bowls NSW, two Champion of Club Champion State Titles were decided on the same day. At Club Merrylands, Jan Sutherland and Betty Herbertson (Soldiers Point) overcame Eugenie Muncaster and Leisa Morgan (Kurri Kurri) in the Women’s CoC Pairs, while further up at South Tamworth Bowling Club Jono Davis (Macquarie Dubbo) edged out Ben Glasson (Mt Lewis) in an Open CoC Singles final to remember!

Double Delight for Herbertson as Soldiers Point Win Women’s CoC Pairs

Soldiers Point have claimed the 2021 Women’s CoC Pairs title in style, winning a titanic battle against Kurri Kurri in the final. Jan Sutherland and Betty Herbertson were ruthless throughout the event, remaining unbeaten in sectional play and producing solid performances to reach the final.

Their semi-final clash in the morning against Cowra was a clinical performance, with both Sutherland and Herbertson ruthless in their play. Dawn Dye and Sharan Hubber (Cowra) performed admirably, and in every sense did their club and area proud in making it so deep into the Women’s CoC Pairs Championship. On the day though they were outplayed by a Soldiers Point team in red hot form.

Kurri Kurri had a different semi-final experience, holding out a strong-finishing Merrylands team in a cracking match. Two ahead on the last end, Leisa Morgan (Kurri Kurri) was two down at the head with one bowl to play. Electing to arrive, she made contact with one of the shots to move the jack and finish holding one, securing a 17-14 win.

The final was a topsy-turvy affair, with leads exchanged on multiple occasions. As soon as one side gained the ascendancy, their opposition would claw their way back into the match through brilliant play.

The quality of play made for a tense and entertaining battle between the finalists, with Jan Sutherland (Soldiers Point) on fire from the lead position and Eugenie Muncaster (Kurri Kurri) turning over heads consistently from third. Leisa Morgan (Kurri Kurri) sent a strong message at the start of the match with some big conversions, but Betty Herbertson (Soldiers Point) with all her experience remained calm and produced a phenomenal overall performance.

Seemingly at any crucial moment in the match, Herbertson was able to deliver and between her and playing partner Jan Sutherland, their communication and teamwork was a sight to behold. They managed to pull away near the end of the match and hold on for a 22-14 win. Herbertson now joins Genevieve Delves (Raymond Terrace) and the great Karen Murphy (Cabramatta) as a two-time winner of this event, sitting behind only Natasha Van Eldik with three titles.

Davis Seals Second Open CoC Singles Title

Jono Davis (Macquarie Dubbo) has claimed his second NSW Open State Champion of Club Champions Singles title, defeating Ben Glasson (Mt Lewis) in an epic final at South Tamworth Bowling Club.

Davis made the early running in the final, getting out to a 16-8 lead before Glasson scored his first multiple of the final to close the score to 16-12.

The pair then traded blows before Davis once again eased to the out to a 24-18 lead.

Glasson then peeled off a string of four winning ends. He started by converting a head from 4 down to 3 up then scored 2, 2 and 1 to lead 26-24.

Davis however piled on the pressure, and two missed running shots opened the door for Davis to claim a maximum count and reclaim the lead. He then scored a double to push his score to 30.

Glasson threatened to steal the game, converting two further heads to reach 28, but Davis scored the final shot required to take the title, his second after first winning the Championship in 2016. It’s also a case of redemption for Davis, having previously lost the State Junior Singles final to Glasson back in 2012.

Click here to view the results from the Open CoC Singles

Click here to view the results from the Women’s CoC Pairs

Click here to view the results from the Open CoC Pairs