2021 BCiB Women’s Grade 2 State Winners – Munmorah United

Women’s State Pennant Finals – Day 6 Wrap

by Billy Johnson

Congratulations to Munmorah United on winning the 2021 BCiB Women’s Grade 2 State Pennant Final and to Tathra Beach on winning the 2021 BCiB Women’s Grade 4 State Pennant Final!

Eight clubs started the day at Forster Bowling Club in the hunt for a State Pennant as they took to the greens for the Grade 2 and Grade 4 semi-finals. For many players, this was their first taste of State Pennant Finals experience. In fact, the record books show that the last time one of the remaining sides won a State Pennant in these Grades was 1994 when Bomaderry won Grade 2 and Yamba won Grade 4.

Both semi-finals in Grade 2 both proved to be cliff-hangers. The matches featured countless lead changes on the master board and quality bowls from start to finish. In the end, it was Bomaderry and Munmorah United who were able to hold firm and book their place in the final. In Grade 4, Tathra held off a fast-finishing Figtree Sports, while Ingleburn proved too strong for Yamba winning 48 – 29.

Just as the afternoon finals started, a strong blustery wind picked up making conditions quite difficult for players. Considering the conditions, all four teams across the two finals still managed to play some superb bowls. The Grade 2 final between Munmorah United and Bomaderry was close the whole way through the game, with neither team more than 10 shots ahead on the master until the final ends of the match. Munmorah United in the end were too consistent for Bomaderry, taking out the match 43 – 30.

In Grade 4, Tathra Beach jumped out to a commanding lead against Ingleburn and maintained that dominance throughout the final, cruising to a 60 – 20 win. Ingleburn played admirably, but in the end were outclassed by the Tathra side.

Bowls NSW congratulates the four State Pennant Champions and four State Runners-Up from the 2021 BCiB Women’s State Pennant Finals:

Grade 1

Champions – Cabramatta

Runners-Up – Charlestown

Grade 2

Champions – Munmorah United

Runners-Up – Bomaderry

Grade 3

Champions – Tuncurry-Forster Sports

Runners-Up – The Rules Club Wagga

Grade 4

Champions – Tathra Beach

Runners-Up – Ingleburn

Click here to view the final Grade 2 Results

Click here to view the final Grade 4 Results