Aaron Teys

Warilla shooting for THIRD Crown

by mtaylor

Warilla will be looking for a monumental third NSW State Championship title for the club when they take on Taren Point in the 2020 NSW State Fours final, to be played at Ettalong Bowling Club (17/3/2021).

Warilla has already locked in the two State Championships finals completed thus far, taking the Pairs (Jeremy Henry & Aaron Teys) and Triples (Brendan Aquilina, Corey Wedlock & Gary Kelly) in the first half of the Championships played in February this year.

The Warilla foursome of Jamie Turner, Brendan Aquilina, Corey Wedlock and Aaron Teys will take on the Taren Point quartet of Kyle Hansen, Simon Lyttle, Chris Green and David Axon.

Taren Point booked their place after fighting back from an early deficit to beat Raymond Terrace (Shaun Richards, Tim Twining, Clinton Doust and Matt Sargeant).

Warilla also fought back from the brink of victory, scoring a count of 4 on the 21st end to level the scores at 16-16 and force the game to an extra-end decider, claiming a hard-fought single to progress to the Championship decider.

Grant Boyce, Werner Dettelbacher, Colin Byron & Michael Brown of Beresfield will do battle with XX for the 2020 NSW State Senior Fours Championship. Beresfield accounted for Marko Pendlej, David O’Brien, David Brandt & Dennis Hoye (Old Bar) while XX accounted for

Wayne Fletcher, Brad Landi, Mark Blackwod & Steve Clark (Mona Vale)

Terry Hughes, Garry Murphy, William Constantine & Tony Shoebridge (Terrigal)

East Cessnock (Frank Lole, Gregory Huth, Warren Parkinson & Steve Davies) and Cabra Vale Diggers (Paul Crossan, Greg Page, Rick Lucey & Troy Allard) will fight out the State President’s Reserve Fours final after they had success over Lindfield Rollers (Bob Paterson, Willie Mok, Ian Kimmorley & Phil Lewis)  and Oak Flats (Tony Guarnaccia, Glen Cowley, Phil Straughan and Leanne Smith) in their respective Semi-Finals.

Oak Flats Leanne Smith became the first female to feature in a Bowls NSW State level Semi-Final since the Association adopted an open gender policy for the 2020 season.

Finals will get under way at 9.30AM at Ettalong Bowling Club and will be followed by the opening two rounds of the State Singles championships

Click HERE for Results & Draws 

Click HERE for videos